Teachers… WITH GUNS!

I’m not sure how many of you caught this, but Georgia has recently passed a law that would allow teachers to carry firearms in the classroom. Here is a link to the article in case you missed it. Go ahead and read it now. We’ll wait for you here. You read it yet? No? Okay, go do that now. Done? Good. Let’s move on. WHAT ARE THEY THINKING? Before we go further, I want to make some things clear:

  1. I have fired guns before. I greatly enjoy firing guns, and I find it to be a perfectly good hobby.
  2. I do not own a gun, mainly for economic reasons. I do not have the desire to own a firearm. At this point, I do not want one in my home, as I would be concerned that one of my kids would get a hold of it.
  3. I do not think we should limit the types of firearms citizens can own within reason. I personally do not think a normal person needs an assault rifle, but if you want one, feel free. I have fired one before, and it is fun.
  4. I believe there should be more accountability with who possesses guns and how they are used. Even if you buy your gun from another private citizen, I think the firearm should be registered to you.
  5. George Zimmerman was guilty as hell.

Now, I know that some people think it’s a good idea to have teachers armed. My wife probably would, she keeps reminding me that the English teachers are the ones who get shot first. Now, I have talked to fellow teachers about this before, mainly when it was brought up. Here are some of the thoughts we had:

  • So you’re going to be responsible when I shoot a kid?
  • Give me a gun, but make sure you don’t give me any bullets?
  • What would stop a kid from taking my gun off of me?
  • Your great idea to keep guns out of schools is to put more guns in schools?

Thank everything that is holy that Georgia has decided to NOT arm their teachers. They make a good point: you can train teachers HOW to use a gun all you want, but there is not nearly as much you can do to train them WHEN or WHY to use a gun. This also makes you wonder, just because the state is not giving guns to teachers, can teachers who already own guns bring them in to work? Now, if you look at the article, the same law allows guns to be carried in two other places: churches and bars. Churches: whatever. People who go to church claim to be righteous and moral. I definitely do NOT want to get into a religious debate, so I’m going to leave it at that. But bars? Are you serious? Let me make a list of the people I know who almost never make not just the right or best decision, but even a decent one.

  1. Infants/toddlers/young children (those other parents out there know what I mean)
  2. people who have recently taken drugs or are chemically dependent on drugs
  3. People how have been drinking

I don’t think young children would be much of a problem in a bar, because people on drugs and/or those who have been drinking definitely will be. Have the lawmakers in Georgia never seen a Western? I’m pretty sure every single one involves a bar fight, and most of those end up with someone being shot (something that will most certainly be absent from a project I am currently working on). Honestly, maybe allowing people to carry guns in bars will be a good thing. Hell, I enjoy reading the Darwin Awards. Anyway, while I approve of firearms, I also believe that some common sense should be used when deciding laws. A person is not allowed to drive a car after drinking a certain amount of alcohol, so why would they still be allowed to carry a firearm? A car can kill a few people and, most likely, the driver if a person drives drunk. A gun carries 6+ bullets. That’s a minimum of six potential dead people. Think people. There are so many bigger things the government should be spending its time and money on than this. How about instead of allowing teachers to bring guns to work, we spend more money on education so our students are actually learning instead of being baby sat. And no, Common Core is not the answer. It may look great and have all the bells and whistles, but if you want, I’ll put bells and whistles on a turd and sell you that too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Teachers… WITH GUNS!

  1. 3boxesofbs says:

    So you’re going to be responsible when I shoot a kid?

    Should I be responsible when you beat a kid with your fists, stab one with a knife/pencil/pen/letter opener, or how about beat a kid over the head and neck with a desk/book/baseball bat/lab beaker/ etc?

    No, each person is responsible for their own actions. Nothing stops you from bringing a firearm into the school now unless you work in one where there are metal detectors.

    What would stop a kid from taking my gun off of me?

    A.) Knowing you have it — there is a reason it is called “concealed carry”. B.) – You? What is to stop a kid from beating you and taking your car keys or anything else — yourself.

    Isn’t it a little fanciful to assume that a kid would attack an adult just because of the presence of a firearm?

    Your great idea to keep guns out of schools is to put more guns in schools?

    Well, considering how well the idea of “gun free zones” have worked out; shouldn’t we at least consider it? No one is saying that armed teachers will stop all shootings or even a single one. But the fact is the faster a firearm shows up in opposition to a mass shooting, the faster that mass shooting stops. Doesn’t it make sense to have firearms on campus in the hands of people we trust with our kids lives day in and day out.

    Or perhaps we shouldn’t trust teachers?

    They make a good point: you can train teachers HOW to use a gun all you want, but there is not nearly as much you can do to train them WHEN or WHY to use a gun.

    So you are saying teachers are too slow/stupid/morally confused as when to protect the kids in their charge? We teach people all the time when and why to use a firearm; we do it with the military, we do it with the police, we do it with people who carry concealed in public.
    Heck, the idea that educated adults wouldn’t know when to employ violence is a really inane concept.

    A person is not allowed to drive a car after drinking a certain amount of alcohol, so why would they still be allowed to carry a firearm?

    Most states have laws against carrying while intoxicated, just as they do against driving while intoxicated. The more important question is “why can’t people believe that someone can go into a bar (carrying a weapon or driving a car there) and not drink?”
    Do you really think that only the law stops people from carrying a weapon in a bar? Sure doesn’t stop people from drinking and driving, does it?

    Bob S.

Leave a Reply

